DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Where To Fix An Alert

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 1 of 212 > >>

New Around Here

Hello All.

The Audit Check for CheckDiskAccess shows "Hackers could access drives/folders outside the website". 

I'm new to Windows Server and IIS.  Where do I change permissions to keep DNN from being able to get outside the website?  

Thank you for any help.

Zyxian

Veteran Member

Hi,

I would also be interested in an answer to this question.

In my case DNN is running under the Application Pool account, eg. IIS AppPool\DnnAppPool. When I run the security advisor, I get the warning above, e.g. for the root of the system drive (C:\ - Read:Y, Write:Y, Create:Y, Delete:N).

When I use Windows Explorer to check the effective permissions of the user IIS AppPool\DnnAppPool for the root folder of C:, I get red Xs for all permissions - which I interpret as nothing is allowed.

Anyway, if read, create and write would be allowed, but delete would be forbidden, I should find some leftovers from the test, as I guess the test should try to create a file (with a success result), and then try to delete it (with an error). But then the file should be there, but I cant see anything...

Confusion...

Happy DNNing!
      Michael

Michael Tobisch
      DNN★MVP

dnnWerk Austria
      DNN Connect

New Around Here

Michael,

Instead of creating a file, couldn't DNN just be reading the permissions for the directories? 

Zyxian

Veteran Member

Could be, I haven't inspected the source code yet. But the permissions in Windows Explorer give no results for that folder, that is what confuses me a bit...

Happy DNNing!
          Michael

Michael Tobisch
          DNN★MVP

dnnWerk Austria
          DNN Connect

Veteran Member

Posted By Michael Tobisch on 12 Dec 2019 06:16 AM

Hi,

I would also be interested in an answer to this question.