DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Vocabularies in DNN9.3.2

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 1 of 212 > >>

New Around Here

Hi, 

I am a bit of a newbie to DNN. Our company uses DNN 9.3.2 for customers. 

In DNN 8 there was a functionality, 'Taxonomies'. Here you could create (structured or not so structured) vocabularies. In Page Details, you could select  a term from your vocabulary, to add it to a page. 

In DNN 9.3.2 I see Settings > Vocabularies. Here also is the possibility to create you own vocabulary. But I can't find any place in DNN where you can add the terms from that vocabulary to pages or other types of content. 

I saw a video (from 2016 mind you) about the then new vocabulary function in DNN 9. But in that video the speaker says: "Now, to be honest, i don’t see too much of a point of creating a new vocabulary, because there is no place in DNN that you can be using this vocabulary, at least as fa as I know"

Does anyone know how you can use your own vocabulary in categorizing content? 

Thanks in advance, 

Sytske van Hasselt, 
    Amsterda, The Netherlands

Veteran Member

There is no admin UI to retrieve classified lists in DNN itself.
      But...you can verify in the database that the values you create in the vocabulary are stored in the table dbo.Taxonomy_Terms.
      If you don't have SSMS, you can login as host and put in the SQL console:
      SELECT TOP (1000) [TermID]
      ,[VocabularyID]
      ,[ParentTermID]
      ,[Name]
      ,[Description]
      ,[Weight]
      ,[TermLeft]
      ,[TermRight]
      ,[CreatedByUserID]
      ,[CreatedOnDate]
      ,[LastModifiedByUserID]
      ,[LastModifiedOnDate]
      FROM [dbo].[Taxonomy_Terms]

You could use this info to create filters in 2SXC or ActionGrid.

Developers can utilize the vocabulary/taxonomy in modules. I think Peter Donker did this with his blog module.