DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Can't find DNN database with SQL Server Management Studio

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.

New Around Here

I am a total newbie with DNN. I installed DNN 9.6.1 on my local Windows PC 3 days ago and have only had one major issue. Every morning I attempt to login to my DNN site using the user name "host" and I'm told the password is incorrect. I am certain the password is correct and I have made no changes to the host account or password. So (1): Why is the host password being reset every night?

I researched how to add a new superuser by registering a new user and then changing the superuser flag in the SQLExpress database. But when I attempt to access the database using SQL Management Studio I can't find a DNN database. In the Databases folder I have "System Databases" and "Database Snapshots".   In "Databases>System Databases>" I have "Master",  "model", "msdb" and "tempdb". None of those DB's contain the DNN tables. So (2) How can I access the DNN database using SQL Management Studio?

My web.config file has the following connection string:

<!-- Connection String for SQL Server 2008/2012 Express -->
     name="SiteSqlServer" connectionString="Data Source=.\SQLExpress;AttachDbFilename=|DataDirectory|Database.mdf;Integrated Security=True;User Instance=True" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient" />

Veteran Member

Password shouldn't be reset automatically, that sounds weird.
      You are using a non-attached database file, residing in /app_data subfolder of your website.
      If you open this file in Management Studio (SSMS), it will get attached to the SQL server and cannot be accessed by DNN using the connection string above. You will either need to "detach" the database in SSMS afterwards or need to specify server name, database name, create a user and provide credentials in your connection string.