DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Page Weight and Speed

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.

New Around Here

Good Morning!

It's weird, none of you know me (except Will maybe), but many of you guys seem familiar. I've been working with DNN and Hotcakes Commerce for over 4 years and sifted through inumerable forum posts, Github, Hotcakes Zendesk and both DNN and Hotcakes source code. So let me take this moment:
    Thank you Joe, Sebastian, Will and all the others!

At this point I have to make a decision for my next project, which involves a very competitve ecommerce market. I've gathered a lot of experience with DNN and I'm a big fan of Hotcakes Commerce, so my first choice is DNN.
    I set up a brand new 9.4.0 multi-language site on Xcillion with Hotcakes. After enabling composite files and gzip, I get 12 requests with a total of 291.53 KB transferred and 0.98 MB size on the empty Home page.
    For comparison, I set up a multi-language Drupal site with all required modules. After composite and gzip, I end up with 9 requests and a total of 90.87 KB transferred and 366.16 KB size on the empty Home page.

I know I'll most likely not be able to transform DNN into the CMS-Ferrari, however I'd like to know if anyone found a way to reduce page weight. 748.71 KB JS including WebResource and ScriptResource is a lot.

At the moment, I see a few ways, albeit not ideal:

• Optimization via the Skin - not sure how much is possible here
    • Caching stuff for the DNN Page on a separate landing page
    • Lazy-Loading as much as possible, might require some core modifications (nono)

What's the correct approach?
    I would image in order to include landing pages into the DNN site it's necessary to have the option to use a minimalistic skin, that includes select few modules and scripts, in my case e.g. language selection and bootstrap. Is that a thing?

Regards,
    Alois Krichmayr
    www.sierzega.com