DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Install Fun

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 1 of 512345 > >>

Growing Member

I am new to DNN, I have to look at seeing if I can upgrade our current system based on a version7 Dotbetnuke, to a newer version DNN.

I have dowloaded 9.4.1 of the patform, and have created a brand new database on a server.

Following the steps to get a website up and running doesn't work, no matter how many times I create it, so instead I am running the website from within Visual Studio 2018.

The install runs fine, until 54% ERROR:Could not find stored procedure 'dbo.AuthCookies_Update, I am not sure what is going on here.

The database is being populated with tables and Sp's as I would expect, so the user and password are correct.

It is a new install of the platform, not trying to upgrade an existing version, as I want to be able to test some of the modules we do not have active in the old version. I could really do with the help here.

Veteran Member

Always good to create a test install.
      I would not install DNN form VS, that only needed whne you are going to make core modifications.

What are the issues you have when installing the through the install package?
      (and what steps did you follow)
      Mostly these are IIS / DB config issues BTW, not DNN issues.

You can also use NvQuickSite, which does most of the work for you: https://www.nvquicksite.com/

Veteran Member

Jeffwest1,

welcome to the DNN Community!

I know it's a bit confusing when you install DNN for the first time, and there are some pitfalls, esp. when you miss a line in a description (as with every other piece of software) - or someone has forgotten to put that line in the documentation, as it seems to be too basic for him :-).