DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

bot detection

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.

Growing Member

I am not an expert here but I can see a reason to possibly want to see those exceptions.  Would there be a way to detect if it's a bot.  Also if you can detect a bot maybe we can also control the bots we want to allow.   When a bot is detected add it to a list that an admin can allow/deny it's presence.  I have wanted to think of a solution for this purpose.  This exception gives a clue to a possibility.

There are a lot of rogue bots that probably dont care about a robot.txt file. 

https://github.com/dnnsof...Platform/issues/3380

This issue shows there can be a lot of bot activity that can lead to huge log files due to the antiforgery key missing from the requests. 

Would it be practicle to put an IF this error happens to send the bot type information to a collection in a database and allow a host to allow/deny it's ability to interact with the website.

I get a lot of times ones that go to pages that dont exist such as for a wordpress admin login panel.  This should be a trap that auto-bans any further requests from that visitor.  I had thought of how to enhance the quality of traffic being allowed on the DNN Portals and thought maybe we could come up with some type of solution.

I do not see an area to chat about the platform itself yet so I am just posting these types of discussions here in the Platform API which I am sure will upset a few readers... move them if necessary please to the right spot.

Any thoughts on this issue here as it would be nice to get all the bad page request errors and antiforgery bot errors to be a minimal impact on the site logs.  Being a past game mod developer I know the challenges when dealing with bots.  It is like adding a captcha to the site and verification email, you just have to do it or the bots overrun your site.

Advanced Member