DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Copying Database Tables from one DNN to Another

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 1 of 212 > >>

New Around Here

Hello, I'm new to DNN and I've been tasked to migrate a content from the a DNN website to another. Mostly just are copy and paste of content, but everything became painful when I had to migrate a thousand of articles from a module/extension. 

I also have the same the extension installed on the new website, so I contacted the support team of the module author with a hope that they can help me out. And this is what they said to me. 

"You will need DigArticle installed on the new site.  The easiest thing to do is transfer all the DigArticle* tables, make all the ID columns keep their same ID's.  Then copy the Portals/[id]/DigArticle folder over to the new site.  IF you don't maintain the ID's in the DigArticle table, you'll have to re-map all the IDs."

I have done copying the folder to a new site. But I have no idea how to do the copying of tables. 

Here's my situation.
    1. Old website website is on a different server.
    2. New website is on new server (PLESK)
    3. I have .MDF file of the old website's database.
    4. I have the .sql script generated using MSSMS.

What I tried already.
    1. Uploding the .sql script on my database using Import Dump (Plesk). But I failed misserably. 

During this crisis, I don't have money to hire someone that could this for me, so I am really hoping that someone that can provide a straightforward solution. Thank you so much in advance, and stay safe guys.

Veteran Member

What I would do is ho with EasyDNnnews.
      1. Modern, full blown, well supported and vert versatile module.
      2. Comes with digiarticles import van extension if O remember correctly.
      Tjep's digital agencyRegards,
      Tycho de Waard

Tjep's digital agency
      We just love DNN
      https://www.tjeps.com