DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

How do you change the layout of a page?

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.

New Around Here

Hi

I am very new to DNN but a reasonably experienced web developer and have some experience with Umbraco, however I am totally failing to understand how DNN works and how I can style my home page.

I can go into Page Settings and click advanced and then appearance. Here I can apparently select different layouts, however clicking them and hitting save does not seem to have any effect. Also I cannot figure out how I would create a new layout, if I wanted to.

It just seems that every page is stuck with an identical, default layout and it cannot be changed, which seems wrong.

I am sure I am missing something obvious.

All help greatly appreciated.

Cheers Mike

Veteran Member

Mike,

Welcome to the DNN Community!

DNN has a default theme (aka skin), this is valid for the whole installation (system). Then you can use a default theme per site (portal), and a theme for a page (tab). If there is no page theme defined, the site theme is used, if there is no site theme defined, the system theme is used.

The same is for containers, which are the layout wrappers for the modules. A module is added to a page inside a pane, at least a default pane must be defined in any page skin.

You can define different skins and containers for normal and admin pages. For instance, a theme can have three page skins, "Home", "Inner" and "Admin". Home could include a slider pane, and be used for the start page. "Inner" could be used for all the other pages, therefore defined in the site settings as the default skin. "Admin" will be used for admin pages, e.g. to edit settings (when there is not the popup used, which depends on the module implementation).