DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

key="AutoUpgrade" value="false"

 3 Replies
 2 Subscribed to this topic
 29 Subscribed to this forum
Sort:
Author
Messages
New Around Here
Posts: 9
New Around Here
New Poster
New Poster
Congrats on posting!
Engaged Reader
Engaged Reader
You are an engaged reader!

Good Evening to all,

I have been using DotnetNuke now DNN since version 5 and have always set web.config:

key="AutoUpgrade" value="false"

with the new upgrade mechanism should I now reset this to:

key="AutoUpgrade" value="true"

You opions would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Trevor

Growing Member
Posts: 37
Growing Member
Helpful Replier
Helpful Replier
Thanks for being such a helpful replier!
3 Engaged Reader
Engaged Reader
You are an engaged reader!

When you do/did a DNN upgrade, basically you copied all files from the upgrade package over to the 'live' website folder.
So when this setting is set to true, the next person who visited your website would trigger the upgrade process.
Which is a pretty bad thing in my opinion. 
So when you set the setting to false, you would actually have to go to www.website.com/install/install.aspx or www.website.com/install/upgradewizard.aspx to trigger the actual update.

Even though there are some great improvements in the upgrade process in dnn 10, I think this mechanism still works the same, so the best thing is to keep this to false.
The new upgrade process will eventually still trigger by calling the /install/upgradewizzard.aspx

 

New Around Here
Posts: 9
New Around Here
New Poster
New Poster
Congrats on posting!
Engaged Reader
Engaged Reader
You are an engaged reader!

Thank you.

Kind Regards
Trevor

Advanced Member
Posts: 143
Advanced Member
2 Helpful Replier
Helpful Replier
Thanks for being such a helpful replier!
MVP
MVP
You're an MVP!
3 Engaged Reader
Engaged Reader
You are an engaged reader!
Avid Reader
Avid Reader
Avid Reader art thou!

Just to add a bit more clarity here.

That flag ONLY applies if you manually unzip the installation over the top of the existing site.  If you use the new upgrade process, it essentially isn't going to be an issue or action that could be there.

Long-term, I believe we will remove that setting, but for now I would suggest leaving it false as others have mentioned.  I just wanted to add clarity of when it could still apply.

These Forums are for the discussion of the open source CMS DNN platform and ecosystem.

For the benefit of the community and to protect the integrity of the ecosystem, please observe the following posting guidelines:

  1. If you have (suspected) security issues, please DO NOT post them in the forums but instead follow the official DNN security policy
  2. No Advertising. This includes the promotion of commercial and non-commercial products or services which are not directly related to DNN.
  3. No vendor trolling / poaching. If someone posts about a vendor issue, allow the vendor or other customers to respond. Any post that looks like trolling / poaching will be removed.
  4. Discussion or promotion of DNN Platform product releases under a different brand name are strictly prohibited.
  5. No Flaming or Trolling.
  6. No Profanity, Racism, or Prejudice.
  7. Site Moderators have the final word on approving / removing a thread or post or comment.
  8. English language posting only, please.

Would you like to help us?

Awesome! Simply post in the forums using the link below and we'll get you started.

Get Involved