DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

Webp compression

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 1 of 212 > >>

New Around Here

My DNN site is .09.10.02. I added the webp to the valid file format line. 

https://doc.dnngo.com/min...-in-the-minis-theme/

If I replace a jpg with a webp, I will get this message: File type webp is invalid in this context. Valid file types include: bmp,gif,ico,jpeg,jpg,jpe,png,svg. 

When I worked with the PHP Laravel site, I changed several files to make it work. I am a newbie. Please direct me to which files I should change.

Growing Member

I think you need to do both.
      1, Add the mime type in the config file
      2. Add the webp extension to the allowable types.

On that note: I don't understand the Laravel / php context as that DNN is running on Microsoft technology.

New Around Here

Thank you for your answer. I will add the mime type in the config file. That's it?

Veteran Member

Posted By Sam Mah on 9/15/2023 6:21 AM
          Thank you for your answer. I will add the mime type in the config file. That's it?

If you want to also be able to upload and see the webp files in DNN, you'll also want to update the Allowable Files setting.  

Go to the persona bar while logged in as a superuser. Then go to Settings > Security > More > More Security Settings. 

Add the webp file extension to the Allowable File Types field, and save the change.  

New Around Here

Posted By Will Strohl on 9/15/2023 6:49 PM
            Posted By Sam Mah on 9/15/2023 6:21 AM

If you want to also be able to upload and see the webp files in DNN, you'll also want to update the Allowable Files setting.  

Go to the persona bar while logged in as a superuser. Then go to Settings > Security > More > More Security Settings. 

Add the webp file extension to the Allowable File Types field, and save the change.