DNN Forums

Ask questions about your website to get help learning DNN and help resolve issues.

SQL Server connection string

Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.

New Around Here

Hello,

I'm totally new to DNN. I've downloaded DNN 9.4 on the local machine. InstallWizard cannot seem to connect to SQL Server 14 Developer edition on local machine. Wondering if someone can tell me what should be my connection string in web.config file. I have already created dnntest database in the SQL server and add IIS Apppool\dnn user as a db owner.

Joe

Advanced Member

Assuming you've installed SQL Server with the default settings, it should work like this: Data Source=(local);Initial Catalog=dnntest;Integrated Security=true;

DNN partner specializing in custom, enterprise DNN development https://engagesoftware.com/showcase

Veteran Member

Joe,

In addition to Brian's reply: the account that runs the application pool needs db_owner permission for the database (at least for installing DNN and extensions). Assuming your web server is called DNN-WEB and the application pool is called DnnAppPool, you have the following (Windows/integrated) logins to be created on SQL Server and assigned this role:

1. If IIS and SQL Server run on the same machine: IIS AppPool\DnnAppPool
        2. If they run on different machines within the same domain: DNN-WEB$

If they run on different machines which are not in a domain or not in the same domain, you have to create an SQL Server login and assign the db_owner role to the database. In this case, the connection string would look like

Data Source=[DNNDatabaseSQLServerName];Initial Catalog=[DNNDatabaseName];User ID=[SQLServerLoginName];Password=[SQLServerLoginPassword]

It is not recommended to use the db_owner role in normal operation. Let me write a blog about this in the next days...

If you just want a test installation on a local machine, I recommend nvQuickSite for installing DNN. This saves a lot of headache.

Happy DNNing!